The Greatest Enigma Part I

[[I have been advised that this blog was too long for readers to continue interest.  For that reason, I have broken the blog up into three nice tidbits and changed the title for you all to enjoy. I do appreciate the feedback, please do not hesitate to comment or critique. Thank you for reading my crazy Beatle rantings!! ]]

 

Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band was a ground breaking album of epic proportions. Arguably one of the most iconic album covers of the 20th century (if not THE most iconic). For decades, Beatle Fans, historians and researchers have pondered over the album and all its details wondering if there are coded messages within the album cover art.

sgt_pepper_cover

In my Beatle Mystery seeking passions, the decoding of the Sgt. Pepper enigma has been a top priority for myself. I have spent hours and hours pouring over the imagery and the symbolism in this cover shot. I have spent even more hours delving through article after article, paper after paper of other researchers interpretations and findings. Researchers such as Beacon Films 1966 and Willemaus just to name two. Most of my own interpretations overlap those of the aforementioned researchers, as well as others. Has the Sgt. Pepper enigma been solved? Some say it has, some say there is not an enigma there in the first place to be solved.  I disagree. This puzzle is so complex, so packed with layers upon layers, I am unsure whether it can ever truly be solved.  But one thing is for certain- Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band will continue to inspire and evoke intrigue for generations to come.

nib062b

One popular theory is the suggestion that the Sgt. Pepper cover is an homage to Freemasonry. Upon first glance of the cover, the Freemasonry symbolism may not be apparent. However, there are at least 11 known Freemasons in the crowd of faces we see.  The 11 known Freemasons on the cover are:

Aleister Crowley, H. G. Wells, Karl Marx, W. C. Fields, Sir Robert Peel, Aldous Huxley, Stan Laurel, Oliver Hardy, Tom Mix, Oscar Wilde and T. E. Lawrence.
As noted by Beacon Films 1966: Of these, Crowley, Wells and Marx were all 33° masons and interestingly, if you place a compass over the record cover, Wells and Marx appear at 33°.
Well, that can’t be a coincidence, can it? That seems outright deliberate to me. With just that one simple fact leads me to believe that if you look deeper, there will be more to find. So let’s dig a bit deeper, and see what puzzle pieces we can uncover.  In another thenumbernine blog, I discussed the inclusion of several USO organization members on the cover (see A Flaming Pye in the Sky post). This goes to show that there are seemingly multiple layers to this enigma.  However, if the homage to Freemasonry is indeed the answer to the puzzle here, then surely this can not be an isolated incident. We would expect to find more symbolism to back up the hypothesis, from Sgt. Pepper and other Beatles works.

 A typical place to start is within the “famous faces” we see adorning the SPLHCB cover. These famous persons were hand-picked by John, Paul, George and Ringo themselves as well as Sir Peter Blake and Jan Hasworth (creative designers of the cover scene). Interestingly, there are a few characters that have interesting wordplay within their names. More specifically, I am speaking of:
keytempledoorDiana Dors:
Diana was the goddess of the hunt, the moon and nature. She was eventually equated with the Greek goddess Artemis, though she had an independent origin in Italy. Artemis was the daughter of Zeus and Leto and had a twin brother- Apollo.  (ah those twins and doubles).
 Dors (doors) could obviously suggest a door or gateway.
Shirley Temple:
The last name here should be pretty straightforward. Interesting to note- The Temple of Diana is one of the 7 wonders of the ancient world.
Marlene Dietrich:
Marlene Dietrich was born Marie Magdalene Dietrich in Germany. Mary Magdalene is of course of biblical significance, and of importance in the Gnostic texts as well. The meaning of the name “Magdalene” is from a title which meant “of Magdala”.  Mary Magdalene, a character in the New Testament, was named thus because she was from Magdala – a village on the Sea of Galilee whose name meant “tower” in Hebrew.  She was cleaned of evil spirits by Jesus and then remained with him during his ministry, witnessing the crucifixion and the resurrection.
Dietrich literally translates to “Key” in German.
Mary means “love” or “beloved
Marlene Dietrich’s name would symbolically translate to:  “Beloved-Tower-Key

Well, if you have the key to the temple doors, would you open it? Symbolically here, if we were to open the temple door, who/what would we find?  From this outtake shot of the making of Sgt. Pepper below we can see a clearer picture of the face partially obscured by Diana Dors. Face #69- A Legionnaire from The Royal Antediluvian Order of Buffaloes (RAOB).  A fraternal and Masonic society in the UK in which John Lennon’s uncle Charlie was a member. Source
RAOB
 Some have remarked that this Legionnaire looks remarkably like Aleister Crowley, whom adorns the cover already in the upper left-hand corner of the shot. I can not deny this observation, but either way you come to a Masonic conclusion.  Behind the Temple Doors, partially obscured or “occult/hidden”  is a Freemason.  Curious isn’t it?
Please continue to part II
23 Comments

  1. I certainly didn’t read very carefully did I? There’s the comment box right where it should be. In order to keep a good record I would like to log our exchange to the Lennon/Ono post.

    If you also want them here perhaps we could copy and paste if that’s possible. You may be more tech savvy than me. From the looks of your site I can learn a lot.

    I’ll prepare a comment and get back in the next day or two.

    Like

  2. June 10, 2016 at 1:51 am e
    Diz: I don’t really know where to begin but see what you think of this.

    Your analysis of the Sgt. Pepper’s cover is amazing. My understanding is that it probably reflects the interests of the group of artists centered on the salon of Robert Fraser- Groovy Bob- and Christopher Gibbs. Once the Beatles essentially created the worldwide notion of Swinging London the Fraser group caught their coattails, especially McCartney, the Stones and eventually the most significant groups injecting Crowley and Satanism into the whole lot. The Stones and Marianne Faithfull especially.

    Then you have the involvement of the Process Church, Kenneth Anger, Donald Cammell and the circle is complete.

    Possibly the cover reflects the interests or Weltanschauung of this whole group focused through the Beatles’ fame.

    Connected also may be David Bailey’s portfolio of the leading lights of the period that included the Kray Brothers. The Krays were muscling into the music scene trying to coopt the groups. Tony Sanchez, I believe through them, was connected to Richards and was probably their agent while their attempt to strip Epstein of the Beatles may have resulted in his death.

    The details you have amassed concerning the Sgt. Pepper’s cover are certainly deep and amazing. They are definitely probably a record of the fixations of the period. Leaves me breathless.

    Like

    1. I think you may have summed it up pretty well. There are definitely some interesting things involved around this time in the Beatles camp. The Indica Gallery crowd has always made me raise an eyebrow or two- and the fact that it has been mentioned in passing that Yoko and Paul had net prior to the infamous meeting of John and Yoko. That opens up a whole new can of worms.

      As far as the Crowley influence, I am not so sure that this influence was not there prior to 1966… The symbolism involved in the Beatles works in my opinion, has always had a bit of an occult influence. Even as far back as the Cavern Club… perhaps before that with their rendezvous in Germany. But NO DOUBT we are beginning to see the huge impact that Crowley has had on pop culture.

      I have just started looking into the Kray brother’s shenanigans myself. In fact, that’s where I found your blog! I was looking for more information regarding the “lost chapter” from Spanish Tony’s “Up and Down With the Rolling Stones” and happened upon your wonderful blog! Do you have any further information on that “lost chapter”? Can we be sure it is really from Tony Sanchez’s book? For me, those few pages sums up and confirms nearly EVERYTHING I have been researching for years now. I am currently writing a blog about it now.

      I really enjoy your blog… let’s please keep in touch.

      Like

  3. Diz: I hesitate to venture too far without some familiarity of what you’ve read. For instance you mention Spanish Tony’s book. The most common one is Up And Down With The Rolling Stones. Then there is the 2003 edition of I Was Keith Richard’s Drug Dealer.

    Are you familiar with my essay Who Is Spanish Tony Sanchez?
    Someone calling himself Spanish Tony was commenting on it. The 2003 volume has some additional text not in the first volume as was pointed out by ‘Spanish Tony.’

    You would have to read the exchange between he and I to see who you think he may have been. I think it’s possible it was Spanish Tony and he didn’t die in 2003. At any rate he backed off when I tried to really question him.

    So we have to explore each other’s minds a little to see the extent and type of knowledge we have if you follow me.

    Check out my essay to see what you think. I’m also really interested in your interpretation of he content of the Sgt. Pepper’s cover. Robert Fraser was fully conversant with Crowley before the Beatles and Stones burst onto the scene. When they arrived he had to coopt them which he did.

    I’m sure you’re familiar with Lewisohn’s The Beatle’s Tune In.
    Give me some idea of your library and I can send mine.

    Like

    1. I read your essay on Spanish Tony! Great information. Like I said, that is what brought me to your site. He has just come into my radar very recently, I have just started to familiarize myself with that story. The “lost chapter” I was referring to I happened upon just last week. I was not familiar with its existence prior. Here is where I read it. Are you able to verify its authenticity? I have just run into so many “hoaxes” and misinformation pertaining to these subjects- I try to cross reference wherever I go.
      Look at it, and tell me what you think. Here is the link: http://www.rigorousintuition.ca/board2/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=16566&start=210
      I will be reading more of your essays in the coming days! You have piqued my interest!! Thank you for all your hard work.
      I would also invite you to read some of my own blogs on my site- to get to know my work a bit better. Particularly my Flaming Pye in the Sky Series.
      I am very glad we connected.

      Like

      1. Also, I just want to add, I am very familiar with Robert Frasier and his influences on the boys (particularly Paul)- and I am well acquainted with his fascination with Crowley. I believe he did initiate Paul into the OTO organization (maybe John too??), and you can see evidence of this on the Sgt. Pepper album cover. However- I am also finding these influences much earlier than the Sgt. Pepper era- just not as prominent. Some of my blog articles deal with these references specifically, but there is so much more to write about that I haven’t yet.
        Again, I would ask you to look around and read some of the work I have already done to understand where I am coming from.

        Like

  4. Diz: Yes, I’m familiar with the missing chapter but I reviewed it again. My take on it is this: Everything checks out. John Blake was the publisher and he co-wrote with Tony. He was a journalist before a publisher who had a lot of inside information. Sometimes rather than just co-write he writes a section where he thinks he knows more than Tony.

    In reading through The Missing Chapter, his style seems to predominate. I don’t think it is a hoax. I think the information is authentic and accurate within one man’s point of view. Tony wasn’t present at the Browne accident so obviously he’s collating other people’s stories. Actually so far as we know no one was a witness so it’s all more or less guess work.

    I’m sure you’ve seen the pictures of the more than totaled car. Not only am I surprised that Suki survived if she was in the passenger seat but able to walk away into the night. It would seem that somebody gave her a ride home. Who that someone was may never be known. It does seem that she had to have a ride though.

    If McCartney was somehow at the scene perhaps he scooped her up and drove her away in his car. Some stories say he and Browne were racing.

    The information on the interaction between the Krays and Epstein and Fraser seems to be accurate so I see no reason to doubt the chapter was deleted from the book. In my estimation no hoax.

    I have read through your site. Great beginning.

    You’re US right? What are you working on now?

    Like

    1. I am really pleased with your positive confirmation of Tony’s lost chapter. I have been working with this specific period in Beatles history, and had come to most of the same conclusions. When I happened upon that lost chapter last week, I was floored because it had confirmed so many things that I had been suspecting for so long. It is nearly “too perfect” and hence, it raised a bit of caution on my end. Absolutely amazing! Thank you for your feedback.

      The Beatles seem to be this group of men so high up on a pedestal that no one can say anything negative in any way about them without backlash or harsh criticism. They were larger than life and seemingly above the law in some ways. It’s no wonder that chapter was omitted from Tony’s book. I love the Beatles, I really do- but I think it is time to start re-thinking them.

      Currently, I am working on 3 drafts of blog articles simultaneously. The lost chapter is one, pattie Boyd and her sister Jenny is another, and the Beatles strange rendezvous in Greece. It may take some time due to time constraints at the moment, but writing and the Beatles combines two of my deepest passions. So it shouldn’t be TOO long. I look forward to reading more of your work as well, what have you got coming out in the future?

      I hope my blogs don’t scare you too much… Haha. I have some pretty far out articles. The Beatles have taken me on some wild journeys, I love following them down the strange rabbit hole adventures they lead me.

      Another blog article of mine you might find interesting is “kaleidoscope eyes, Crowley and the symbolic pyramid.” Check it out if you get the chance. I would love your honest feedback and criticism.

      Like

  5. I already read that. Found it very interesting. I have a fair background in the occult but it is taking me time to absorb things, put them in a mental order.

    Rethinking is OK but the adventure of the Beatles, the first world band of the lot, is a very extraordinary thing. I’m no Beatles fan per se but the rocket blast from leather punks to whatever they became, the theft of 95% or so what they earned and then the aftermath is so incredible that it is almost impossible to be told.

    Tell me, Diz, have you read the Andrew Look Oldham autobiographies yet? Incredible stuff, it all meshes into what was the adventure of the Sixties. A lot of positive stuff and a shitload of negative stuff. Well, accentuate the positive and keep the negative in perspective.

    I’ll go over the Crowley article, it is involved, so it will take some time.

    Like

    1. thank you for the recommendation. I have not read that yet! Sounds fabulous. I will put that on my “to read” list.
      And I completely agree with the Beatles incredible tale. It is amazing. Always promote what you love. The Beatles were a phenomenon this world had never witnessed before- and probably will never witness again. I think they were geniuses- musically and otherwise, but sadly taken advantage of by the many cockroaches that crawled out of the woodwork during their success.
      Thanks again for your insight. I do appreciate you taking the time out to chat with me a bit.

      Like

  6. Diz: Some questions.
    Why did you connect the Masonic tracing board with the album cover?

    Have you read Manly Hall.

    What did McCartny have to do with Urban Spaceman. That’s one of my favorite songs.

    Are you a Mason?

    Like

    1. The tracing board was just inspired of my own merit. I was researching Marlene Dietrich from the Sgt pepper cover, and quickly realized she had a very interesting background. Realizing her born name had major significance, and “Magdalene” means tower in Hebrew, I just decided to see what would happen if I aligned her with the beauty pillar from the 1st degree tracing board- and some interesting things lined up.
      I have read manly hall.
      McCartney helped produce ” I’m the urban spaceman” with bonzo doo da band. Under the psynonym “Apollo c vermouth”. McCartney has actually used a lot of aliases and assumed names throughout his career. Bonzo doo dah band also has a cameo performance in the Beatles “magical mystery tour” film, and can be heard singing “death cab for cutie” in the film. Some people think that McCartney is actually playing Vivian stanshall in that performance in the film.
      I am not a mason, nor am I affiliated with any occult, hermetic, or esoteric order or secret society or even any religious organization. The subject matter simply fascinates me, and I try to learn all I can. I could be completely interpreting the symbolism incorrectly- it is all just speculation really, on my part. But with that said- the symbolism- if not intended per se is quite interesting in its own right. It is also quite possible that the Beatles had little to do with the encodings on the cover (if that is indeed what was intended) and instead was influenced by Peter Blake and Robert Frasier. However, I have to disagree that McCartney did not have any input in that because it seems to have his “name” all over it.

      Like

      1. You know more about the cover than I do Diz. I’ve never really examined it as you have. I agree that McCartney was much more social than the other Beatles and generally more expansive and curious.

        However much input he had though I think the artists were in competition with the recording artists and out to get their own back. That may be the reason the Beatles generally has very interesting covers

        Like

      2. I’m not questioning your interpretation. I have never had any interest in analyzing the cover but who’s ever heard of Masonic tracing boards and what are they and what are they used for. You’re way ahead of this reader on that score.

        And then I’m curious as to the mental lucubrations that led you to associated the tracing board to the Beatles’ cover. No criticism, I’d just like to know.

        Yeah, I’ve got the movie. Those guys were too close to the source. The last Bonzo song I would have chosen was Death Cab For Cutie. Why not Urban Spaceman for Christ’s sake. Might as well have done the Laughing Song. There were a dozen better songs. Death Cab kind of ruined the movie for me.

        Of course Manly Hall is a real power in the Occult, but I was surprised you not only heard of him but read him. Ask a hundred persons on the street if they’ve ever heard of Manly Hall and you’ll get a hundred duhs. That’s one hundred percent.

        Consider yourself one of the chosen few.

        Like

    2. Reprindle- Have you read or reviewed the work done by Dave McGowan regarding Laurel Canyon in Southern California? If you are not familiar, I think you would really enjoy his book: “Weird Scenes inside the Canyon”
      Here is an interview with Dave, the author of that book for a bit of background information if you are not already familiar.
      http://dangerousminds.net/comments/classic_rock_conspiracy_theory_weird_scenes_inside_the_canyon
      I would love to pick your brain a bit about it. By the looks of your large collection of essays, you have a very well rounded and experienced viewpoint that I admire very much. Thank you again for all of your time and efforts.

      Like

  7. Diz: Yes I have read McGowan. I think I have all his books but you never know there’s always one or two that slip through. I hope he’s still alive but the last I read cancer had him down.

    Actually he has a more interesting rendering of the music scene on a series of the Internet. Can’t remember exactly what it’s called but lots of great pictures and really interesting details.

    Thanks for the interview reference I haven’t seen that yet.

    Weird Scenes did has some interesting details though.

    Like

    1. Dave McGowan passed on in November of last year. November 22nd actually (same date as JFK).
      What is your opinion of the conclusions Dave has made in his laurel canyon book?
      I usually remain skeptical about most things, I tend to question everything I am told, until I can verify certain things for myself, and even then I usually question them! Haha.
      With that said, most of the information in mcgowan’s book does seem to check out- but one topic he never touches upon is the issue of the “British Invasion” in the 60s and what role that may have had on the supposed “counter culture” IN the US.
      That aspect has been one of my main lines of research on this topic, but continue to hit brick walls.

      Like

  8. A side note: I was in the record business at the time and was around LA a fair amount. I knew some people on the flat end of Laurel Canyon but I was never up the hill.

    Like

  9. Diz: What do I think of McGowan’s scholarship? I love the guy, of course, we went to different schools together, but then I love anybody that keeps me amused. As a conspiracy theorist, I don’t know. It certainly is amazing how many sons of the intelligence community got into music and came West. What is even more astounding is that such a high percentage not only had talent but mega talent.

    But, do you really believe that because Jim Morrison was the son of an admiral that made him an undercover agent? What did the CIA do, hand him his notebook full of great songs and say Go West Young Man and propagandize anti-war songs? Did they then steal the notebook back when the were through with him? Couldn’t the CIA have helped their boy out in Miami when he flashed his dick? How hard would that have been? Flashing your dick isn’t as bad as, oh say, the Tate-La Bianca murders is it?

    Jorma Kaukonen and Marty Balin were DC sons of intelligence parents. But Kaukonen is an astonishing good musician and great guitarist; Marty Balin is accomplished: They created the Jefferson Airplane whose name is a drug reference. If they were agents where did they get their talent? You can hire people to write songs for you but you can’t put a guitar in some yo-yo’s hands and say Play like a master.

    So, I like McGowan’s observations but I’m leery of his conclusions. However the presence of Manson and his people where the action was is comprehensible. But, those people looked like trouble from a bow shot away, there were lots of that kind in those days. One would go a long ways to avoid them. They may have been around but how welcome were they?

    Dave’s stuff takes a lot of corroboration. Your instincts are good.

    Not only would you avoid people like Manson’s but I’d even go out my way to avoid Frank Zappa.

    I read Dave’s stuff and enjoy it, I know he’s sincere but he avoids convincing conclusions. Don’t quote him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It seems to me that for centuries now there has been an inner-war between secret societies. A feud of sorts- which is being played out right before our eyes.

      I like McGowan’s work, and it opened a whole new paradigm for me, but I admit there are some holes in his “theory” that need proper explanation. For example, these mega-idol musicians with military backgrounds were singing about revolution and going against the grain of society. Wouldn’t they be more likely to sing about “love your government, never question anything” if they indeed were “working for the “man”? It just seems odd that this was the course they decided to take with their music. On the other hand, fear is a powerful emotion- divide and conquer right? If the intention was to prop these “pop stars” up to such dizzying heights that the younger generation would abide by all they said/did- you would think they would have had a better message to control the various uprisings within the US at the time. But I suppose the promotion of LSD did the job accordingly….
      As far as the mega-talent that you were referring to- if this was indeed a “planned” psy-op or whatever you want to call it- there is a good chance that these musicians were trained from a very early age to be musicians. Plopped a guitar and a microphone in front of them at age two, and payed for the finest musical training money could buy. It is an interesting notion, and no doubt completely possible.
      One thing that I always try to keep in perspective is the amount of funding it requires to promote an up-and-coming musician. Someone had to print all those records that were sold right? Someone had to give the newest single to all the major radio stations to play over and over and over and over again right? I can not say with confidence that the music that is “chosen” for the top 40 of any given week was not hand-picked by their own investors. A guarantee of success if you will. Does that even make sense?

      Like

Leave a Reply

